Enjoy four student-directed one act plays at Huntley High School January 29, 30, and 31

HUNTLEY, IL – Huntley High School students will present four student-directed one act plays in the District 158 Performing Arts Center at Huntley High School on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, January 29-31 at 7:00 p.m. Tickets are $5 each and can be purchased beginning one hour prior to each show.

Children 3 and under are free.

These plays may be short, but they pack a ton of fun and laughter into a small span of time. Directed, performed, and produced by HHS students, these shows will leave you laughing, crying, and hopefully wanting to see more!

The evening kicks off with “Sure Thing,” directed by Spencer Bingham. “Sure Thing” is a comic play by David Ives featuring a chance meeting of two characters, Betty and Bill, whose conversation is continually reset by the use of a ringing bell, starting over when one of them responds negatively to the other.

“Sure Thing” consists of three actors: Bijan Arevalo, Jason Trejo, and Sophie Dowell. Told through the eyes of twins and their mother, “The Pursuit of Perfection” by Anna Tyrie, examines prejudice—set in an Orwellian world in which the ‘natural crop’ becomes dominated by those of “perfect” genetically modified breeding.

“The Pursuit of Perfection,” directed by Kaelin Lopriore and assisted by Alexa LaFaire, features: Justin Panacchia, Dani Bahn, Becca Zayas, Josh Szeszol, Marisa Bowman, Ariel Schofield, Alyssa Debock, Sophie Calderone, Courtney Nejman, Leslie Allen, Lainey Scott, Mallory Fletcher, Celine Jones, and Gaby Falconi.

Directed by Josh Archambeau and assisted by Carlos Aldape, the third performance, “The First Date,” by Kristyn Leigh Robinson, features Brad and Delia, who have been set up on a blind date by a mutual friend. It seems to be a good match at first, but between Delia’s stealing “mementos” from the restaurant and the waiter’s fumbling with their orders, Brad soon regards himself as the only sane
person of the three.

The cast of “The First Date” includes Nicolas Mule, Hailee Brown, and Hayden Ballard.